Stampeders Close Out Regular Season With A 3-2 Win

The Stampeders closed out their regular season Sunday March 3rd with a 3-2 win over the Winnipeg Blues. 

Before the contest started the MJHL Commissioner Kim Davis was on hand to present league awards. 

The MJHL Commissioner presented Josh Tripp with the league Most Valuable Player Award. The Steve “Boomer” Hawrysh Award is presented annually to the player judged to be most valuable to his team.

Kim Davis then presented the leagues Top Defenceman award to Quintin Sudom. The MJHL’s top defenseman currently has 16 goals and 39 assists for 55 points in 50 games played. 

Davis then presented the First All Star Team jerseys to three Stampeder Players. 

First All Star Team forward, Josh Tripp of the Swan Valley Stampeders.

First All Star Team forward, Bradly Goethals of the Swan Valley Stampeders.

First All Star Team defenseman, Quintin Sudom of the Swan Valley Stampeders.

The contest was that of a playoff nature, with two big teams battling hard for every inch of ice. Brian Harris opened the scoring tonight, finding a loose puck out front of the net and buried his 16th of the year at 5:20. Alex Uryga picked off a pass, and scored a beautiful short handed goal at 14:06, putting Swan Valley up by two. Winnipeg cut into the lead 38 seconds later as Braeden Binda scored on the power play. 

Winnipeg evened the score at two, as Ty Nyaakens beat Michael Davis 36 seconds into period, once again on the power play. The score was deadlocked at two after forty minutes of play.  

Carter Cockburn’s goal 36 seconds into the third period held up as the game winner and the Stampeders held on for a 3-2 win. Final shots on goal 41-41. 

The Stampeders grab their 42nd win of the year tonight, finishing off their 20th season one win away from tying the all time record.  The Stamps’ closed out the regular season with a record of 42-13-3-2. 

Next up for the Stampeders will be Game 1 of the MJHL Playoffs. The Dauphin Kings and the Swan Valley Stampeders will do battle Friday March 8th in Swan River. Puck drop is 7:30pm. Playoff tickets are available at Atkinson’s Sports Excellence or at the door.